(20 April 2021, Pasay City, Philippines)SM Prime Holdings, Inc. (SM Prime), one of the leading integrated property developers in Southeast Asia, announces its three new Board of Directors for the year 2021-2022.

In the Company’s Annual Stockholder’s Meeting, which was held virtually, SM Prime named Mr. Amando M. Tetangco, Jr., Ms. Darlene Marie B. Berberabe, and Mr. J. Carlos G. Cruz as newly-elected Independent Directors taking over the positions of the three outgoing Independent Directors, Mr. Jose L. Cuisia, Jr., Mr. Gregorio U. Kilayko and Mr. Joselito H. Sibayan.

In a joint statement from the Chairman of the Board Mr. Henry T. Sy, Jr. and President Jeffrey C. Lim, SM Prime congratulates and welcomes the newly-elected members of the Board, in anticipation of their positive contributions in ensuring sustainable growth of the Company.  Likewise, SM Prime’s Management look forward to the guidance coming from the excellent mix of experiences and competencies the new set of independent directors bring with them.

Mr. Sy, Jr. and Mr. Lim also thank the three outgoing Independent Directors – Mr. Jose L. Cuisia, Jr., Mr. Gregorio U. Kilayko and Mr. Joselito H. Sibayan – for their unwavering guidance and wisdom through these past remarkable years of SM Prime that led to the Company being one of the leading integrated property developers in Southeast Asia.

Mr. Tetangco, Jr., has been appointed as SM Prime’s new Vice-Chairman and Lead Independent Director of the Board. He is currently the Independent Director of Belle Corporation. He was the third Governor of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) and served the BSP for two consecutive 6-year terms from July 2005 to July 2017. Mr. Tetangco graduated from Ateneo de Manila University with an AB Economics degree (Cum Laude), where he also took up graduate courses in Business Administration. As a BSP scholar, he obtained his MA in Public Policy and Administration (Development Economics) in 1978 at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, in Wisconsin, USA.

Ms. Berberabe, who was appointed by the President of the Republic of the Philippines as the CEO of Pag-IBIG Fund in 2010, currently holds directorates in Palm Concepcion Power Corporation, PA Alvarez, Katapult Digital Corp and is also a member of the Board of Trustees of Philippine Heart Association and UP Law Alumni Foundation. She is a recipient of numerous awards and accolades including Outstanding CEO in Asia by the ADFIAP, one of the Ten Outstanding Women in Nation Service in 2013, and one of the 100 Most Influential Filipino Women in 2014. She is a senior lecturer at the University of the Philippines (UP) College of Law where she graduated salutatorian of her class in 1999.

Mr. Cruz is currently an independent director of Transnational Diversified Group, Inc., Federal Land, Inc. and Solar Philippines Power Project Holdings, Inc. Mr. Cruz graduated from the University of Santo Tomas with a Bachelor of Science in Commerce degree and completed the Advanced Management Program of the Harvard Business School in 2007. He has been conferred with numerous awards, the latest of which is the “Parangal San Mateo” from the Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants. This award is the highest honor given to a CPA in honor of his significant contributions to the accountancy profession.

Mr. Tetangco, Jr., Ms. Berberabe, Mr. Cruz will serve in the Board of SM Prime Holdings, Inc.’s along with its Chairman Mr. Henry T. Sy, Jr., Director and Chairman of the Executive Committee Mr. Hans T. Sy, Director Mr. Herbert T. Sy, Director Mr. Jorge T. Mendiola, and Executive Director and President Mr. Jeffrey C. Lim.

SM Prime remains committed to its role as a catalyst for economic growth, delivering innovative and sustainable lifestyle cities, thereby enriching the quality of life of millions of people.


For further information, please contact:

Alexander Pomento

Vice President, Investor Relations

SM Prime Holdings, Inc.

E-mail: alex.pomento@smprime.com

Tel. no.: +632 8862 7940